Welcome to Engineering4India
PGCET Karnataka | Common Entrance Test 2019
  • Karnataka Post Graduate Common Entrance Test


A common gateway or test for PG courses is available in Karnataka, named Post Graduate Common Entrance Test, shorts for PGCET. It is a national level authorized entrance test scheme, conducted by Karnataka Examination Authority, under which students get chance to exhibit their talent to get an entry point at threshold of various PG courses like MBA, MCA, M.Tech, M.Arch and ME etc. in the state of Karnataka only. It gives a mandatory platform to the candidates to prove their existence and caliber for the seat for which they are applying to get admission into. The candidates, who are GATE qualified, are exempted from the boundary of this test. The non GATE qualified will have to pass the series of steps to appear and pass PGCET.


The first and foremost requirement to appear for the test is that the applicant must be a resident of the state of Karnataka only or should belong to the area that comes under the domicile of Karnataka state only. Secondly, the applicant must have studied past 7years from the establishments and institutes of Karnataka only. Along with it, a few specific details are supposed to be met as:

1. For general category applicants, Minimum of 50% marks are required in B.E or B.Tech, who want to take admission in Technology Programs or MBA. For entry into full time MCA course, one should have 45% marks in qualifying undergraduate program with Business Statistics and Mathematics, Computer Application, Computer Programming etc. whereas minimum 45% marks are required for the same level for SC/ST category or Category-I applicants.
2. The applicants, who want to have side or lateral entry in MCA programme, must qualify their under graduate educational level with BCA, B.Sc(Information Technology) or B.Sc(Computer Science) with Mathematics as compulsory subject with minimum 50% marks in aggregate whereas same level is applicable for the applicants belonging to SC/ST category with minimum 45% marks.

1. The students, who want to apply for MCA / MBA Course, the exam will be objective type and will be of 100 marks. The questions will be divided in two parts. Part A will cover 20 questions and Part B will cover 60 questions. Each question will be of 1 mark. The duration of the test will be 150 minutes.
2. The students, who want to apply for M.Arch / M.Tech / M.E Course, the paper will contain 75 questions for 100 marks. Questions will be divided in two parts. Part A will cover 50 questions of 1 mark each and Part B will cover 25 questions of 2 marks each.
3. The application process for Common Entrance Test for Post Graduate courses starts with online application form submission on Official website of PGCET Karnataka, which will be available from July, 2018 for all courses. The admit card for the same will be available on website only in the last week of August. The candidates are supposed to download it and appear for the same.
4. Once the evaluation process completes, the result will be declared in online mode only on official website. A cumulative merit list will be produced on the basis of result of the candidate and will be available on the official website only so that applicants can find their rank and register their selves for the counseling sessions as per their preferences and courses selected on the basis of rank obtained.

1. Bangalore , RV College of Engineering
2. Bangalore , Nitte Meenakshi Institute of Technology
3. Bangalore , MS Ramaiah Institute of Technology
4. Bangalore , The Oxford College of Engineering
5. Bangalore , Bangalore Institute of Technology
6. Bangalore , Reva Institute of Technology and Management
7. Bangalore , RNS Institute of Technology
8. Dharwad , SDM College of Engineering and Technology
9. Mandya , PES College of Engineering
10. Mysore , Vidyavardhaka College of Engineering

Presets Color